Explore. Dream. Discover.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” -Mark Twain

I think this quote states a clear motto for any adventure.  To be completely, utterly raw and honest here, I am scared of this trip.  I know in my heart that good things will come out of it that betters all of us.  But here nor there, the fear sticks.  I am bound to be a different being at the end of this year, as in any other year.  It IS only a year that we signed up for, right? (smile, chuckle)

Fear of what you might ask?  Not sure but let me take a stab at it:  maybe the smallness, the hardly ever being alone-ness, the lack of stuff-ness (that is a whole entry in itself).  Brian and I have spoken many times in the last couple of years about down sizing and in fact in many ways we have.  But moving into a 350 space?  Ok, I have signed up for this so now let’s look at the positive side and not dwell in the fears.

What do I embrace:  getting to know the grit of America, eating and cooking locally in different US regions, sightseeing, setting family as priority by stripping away all of that consumerism and hectic lifestyle that comes with high level suburbia.  I would like to listen to life’s quieter, deeper sounds normally drowned out by daily cacophony. And act as if what I do makes a difference.

I think that it does.

I am willing to put my selfish fears aside and scream BRING IT ON!

Leave a Reply

