Always Thinkin’

Janet here. A couple of weeks into our adventure, there is quite a bit of time that this kind of life gives me to think about everything.  And by nature I am one that likes to be challenged, is open to new things, and then I like to turn those thoughts upside down and dissect them.  Here are a few things I have been thinking about:

Waiting for a groove

This new lifestyle is different for me and I am sure many others who have taken this type of leap.  It’s pure simpleness and lack of stuff allows for true enjoyments of moments and being present.  Coming form a hectic life of business co-ownership, childhood activities and caring for a large home, this is a bit weird if I do say so.  I am waiting for the groove to come–how long will that be?  One month, two or maybe just when the travels come to a close?  Hope not.

Childhood bliss

We have been indulging in everything from Ava’s request to “run in the wheat fields” which produced a hilarious game of hide and go seek  to a morning of dressing and eating with their feet provoked by Helvetica Black in the movie “Shorts”.  These are the moments we all remember as we get older.

Nature of traveling

I am trying to really put myself into the body of those who have been nomadic.  There are things I need to get over to be a bit more comfortable such as not knowing which is the best grocery store.  Which brings me to this story:  yesterday we came a across “Fiddle Creek Ranch” in the middle of Hells Canyon.  Nothing else was around for miles and here a family plunked down their family roots and planted an orchard.  The fruit was obviously not treated with pesticides because it was not perfect looking–just the way I like it. We stocked up on pears, pluots and nectarines that were very tasty!  One hurdle overcame!   Another comfort zone to jump out of is not having my close friends and family around.  But I do my best to embrace the fact that we will find new friends that are nomads like us but also ones that are part of the communities we visit.  Just like we all did back in Kindergarden–what a concept!  I am thankful to be able to have the time to not blast through every spot and get to enjoy a slice of their life so to speak.

Simpleness

“Jack” as we call our 35 foot beast of a home, has everything we really need and is our vessel that allows us to live this lifestyle temporaily.  ‘Want’ is a different story but I have come to live with this motto:  “Just because I can doesn’t mean I have to”.  We have Jack on our back and that is quite comforting to a mother who appreciates a nice home.  So bring it on!

America the beautiful

There is so much vast openness of land in this country and it is cool to be on the open road and get to our next destination.  True, there are many things I could dwell on in the negative sector for this country, but that is not my goal.  One of which is to show Ava and Tess our land and the opportunities it offers.  Who knows what direction this trip will take for them. The direction could be as vast as all of the rivers, creeks, lakes.   And as one college student we encountered over the summer to the girls said “your parents are so cool”!  I’ll take that as a great compliment to the gift we are giving them and to ourselves.

Also follow both Brian and my adventure on FB at Janet Stoscher Creasy and Brian Hugh Creasy

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sean C. on September 12, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Keep these posts coming. Love reading them and getting a real perspective of the adventure.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jaime on September 13, 2010 at 1:42 am

    Janet, I have goosebumps reading this & am looking forward to many more such posts from you. What an amazing, brave, awesome adventure you are all embarked on. I am proud to know someone who is, indeed, such a cool parent! 🙂 The things you’ve contemplated really resonate with me, and part of me is jealous at the grand coolness of what you’re doing (I know, I know, I’m sure there are things about it that make you grumble, but really…how great is this going to be for you guys?? Completely.) Keep the updates coming – I’ll be reading eagerly.
    xoJaime

    Reply

  3. Posted by andrea gaspari on September 13, 2010 at 3:02 am

    What an incredible life experience for all of you. How freeing to not have stuff and time clocks to punch. We all may be joining you if this economy keeps up; we will all be forced to think out of our safe little boxes (some known as houses) (cubicles) (offices) ( computers) (cell phones). The world is your playground. So happy that you are all doing this.
    andrea : )

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mikajoy on September 14, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Greetings from Montreal. Yep, we also think our kids are pretty cool, eh?

    Reply

  5. About the groove, it took us a solid month to feel a bit “normal” again. It’s still not like it was (of course, and yay!) but it’s more well, in a groove. The first few weeks were madness. Fun, but wow, emotions flaring from anyone at anytime. But we settled in and got our balance on the boat I guess. 🙂 Then it gets even more fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

