Passions and Pigeons

There has been a great deal of talk in this rolling house about passions. I am looking into my next work venture and want to make sure that it is tied to what I love. Brian is trying to infuse some of his passions into his work as well.  This led to the entire family to making a list of passions. Once we got started it was hard to stop as there is a lot of passion in these Creasy bones!

Speaking of passions, there is one event that occurred recently that really proves the point.  It was the day before Halloween and we were galavanting around Santa Fe portrayed as the Ingall’s family. It had been a stellar day and it was drawing near the end when we decided to have a fancy drink at one of the hotels that some consider haunted. Sitting on the patio out front, Tess notices an injured bird in the street, a pigeon to be specific. His wing looks damaged and he could only fly a few feet at a time.

She promptly asks me for my phone in order to call a local animal rescue. My battery was dead.  Then she convinces me to go inside the hotel and ask for assistance which led to a bell boy who did not seem to care or offer any help.

All the while, the bird is drawing attention to passers by while Tess keeps a strong eye out for him. Next, the same bell boy comes out with a shovel. I ask him what he is doing and he tells me (in front of Tess mind you) that other customers had alerted him to this bird and that he was going to kill him.

Tess starts crying and screaming “No!, No! No!” right to his face over and over. She looks to me for comfort but stayed ever strong in her effort. She then ran over to the bird and did not let anyone  come near, protecting.

In the meantime, one of the couples who had passed by, comes back with a box. They gently describe that they were going to take the bird, try to heal it and let it go in a park when healed.
I reassured Tess that this was the best option and that her friend would not be hurt.  She agreed.

I am so amazed at her conviction and it brought me back to my childhood passions and how things change with age.  How we were all once so brazen and full of passion!  Her message should be to all of us:  be strong and do not become jaded in life. Do not let others persuade you and if someone says “no” you try, try again.

Thank you, Tess for being a passionate being.  I just hope that I can be just like you when I grow up.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brian on December 4, 2010 at 12:23 am

    This was a truly amazing experience to watch. I was shocked initially, which quickly waned as pride filled me; pride for a young girl who is not just passionate about animals but also brave enough to stand strong. She stood her ground against adults, not always an easy thing to question authority at 8 years old, and protected that bird the way that she knew how. And it worked. I could not be more proud, and encourage her to be proud of herself.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joyce Creasy on December 5, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Tess, you have a heart of gold. A beautiful heartwarming story.
    Love to you all. grammie

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ellen Beans on December 16, 2010 at 4:06 am

    What a precious powerful story. Tending life does take courage. Wouldn’t it be an interesting conversation to sit down with everyone who witnessed this event. What did each feel? think? Love to all of you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Derek Norcom on December 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Bravo Tess!!! And her mother for articulating this all so well!

    I’d like to share here the lyrics to one of my favorite songs, written by a guy who seemingly never lost touch with his passion for living.

    John Denver’s Rhymes and Reasons:

    See next comment. Switching from phone to computer…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Derek Norcom on December 22, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    JD’s Rhymes and Reasons:

    So you speak to me of sadness
    And the coming of the winter
    Fear that is within you now
    It seems to never end
    And the dreams that have escaped you
    And the hope that you’ve forgotten
    You tell me that you need me now
    You want to be my friend

    And you wonder where we’re going
    Where’s the rhyme and where’s the reason
    And it’s you cannot accept
    It is here we must begin
    To seek the wisdom of the children
    And the graceful way of flowers in the wind

    For the children and the flowers
    Are my sisters and my brothers
    Their laughter and their loveliness
    Could clear a cloudy day

    Like the music of the mountains
    And the colours of the rainbow
    They’re a promise of the future
    And a blessing for today
    Though the cities start to crumble
    And the towers fall around us
    The sun is slowly fading
    And it’s colder than the sea

    It is written from the desert
    To the mountains they shall lead us
    By the hand and by the heart
    They will comfort you and me
    In their innocence and trusting
    They will teach us to be free

    For the children and the flowers
    Are my sisters and my brothers
    Their laughter and their loveliness
    Could clear a cloudy day

    And the song that i am singing
    Is a prayer to non believers
    Come and stand beside us
    We can find a better way

    Words and music by John Denver

    Reply

Leave a Reply

