Adorable Blubber

Dear “Jack” (our RV),

We went to see manatees today.  I was with my mommy, daddy, sister, and a friend.  All of us were on a dock and we could see the manatees from there.  I named one Whipey, because it had a “white stripe”.

Manatees live in areas that have warm, natural water.  Usually they stay in lakes or rivers for quite a long time.  Fresh water is where they prefer to be, but you can find them in salty water.  We saw them near the ocean, so it was salty.  Manatees are being endangered by getting scars from propellers and getting tangled in fishing nets.

Manatees are sometimes called “sea cows” because they are big like cows.  Their paddle like tails are strong let them swim up to 15 miles per hour.  Manatees can hold their breath for up to twenty minutes, but only when they are staying still.  While swimming, they can hold their breath for about 4-5 minutes before needing to come up for air.

Manatees are big and blubbery, though they are herbivores.  They manage to eat sea plants and sea grass.  Can you believe it?  They can eat a tenth of they’re own body weight in just 24 hours!

After all that, my sister and I went in a windy, small room meant to be like a hurricane.  It’s called a hurricane simulator.

We had a lot of fun with those manatees!

So now that you know a little about manatees, you can call yourself a marine biologist.

By:  Tess Lynn  (age 8)

4 responses to this post.

  1. That is awesome Tess! I love the manatees. Hopefully we’ll get to see some at the FOTR rally at Cape Canaveral. See you there. We miss you guys. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Allen Lundy

    Reply

  2. I hope to see the manatees in my own travels in the next couple of years! I discovered them when doing a report for school in the 10th grade. I think they are beautifully peaceful creatures. Did you know that their closest animal relative is the elephant?? That just seemed to be one of the craziest facts to me. I *still* have my report on manatees!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Gabby libbin on May 30, 2011 at 1:20 am

    i have seen a live manatee in south carolina they are wonderful mamals

    Reply

  4. Posted by Gabby libbin on May 30, 2011 at 1:22 am

    my little has a report on manatees

    Reply

Leave a Reply

