Noodles

My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living.— Anais Nin

Janet here, thinking it is about time that I get off of my a** and write some more.  If you are at all like me, which I hope that you are not (which is what makes you special), you noodle thoughts and ideas all the time.  I have decided that I will change this blog to reflect upon some of those thoughts and ideas and maybe, just maybe connect the dots.  Or not.

Upon returning to “real life” as it was back in March, I have found that real life is no longer the same.  I encourage everyone at sometime in their life create a clean “break” of sorts and get out of their comfort zone. The experiences that that kind of travel brought me were nothing you can see, but only feel, and have altered how I think.  It is hard to describe but I will try.

I am more optimistic rather than pessimistic. Not perfect, mind you, but better.

I have found that life is meant to be lived and to not sweat the small stuff that gets in the way.  It is amazing that when I look back at all the “things” I did to be “busy” before we left just really didn’t matter.  And it is easy to slip back into that trap. I am constantly trying to reset myself to not worry about stuff.

My community is very important to me.  Part of my brain chatter on the road turned out to be a lack of community.  I did not think that would matter as much to me as it did.  Maybe it is a gender phenomena that females carry.  And homeschooling here in Portland has created new ties and stregthened others and have allowed me to dig deeper into my relationships rather than just hold to the niceties that our previous life involved.

The former topic brings me to my next:  authenticity.  I am who I am, never perfect but always evolving.  And I choose to let you do the same.  If we don’t agree, that’s pretty cool because then we have a good discussion percolating.

It is amazing that in this lifetime, we are so blessed that we get to explore such topics.  I am quite sure that previous generations were not or could not do the same.  And another strong belief I have is that if we continue to think outside the “box” like this, next generations will benefit.  I see our girls engaging, questioning and debating things that I never did as a kid.  Cool.  I am finally at a point of really LOVING the learning WITH them.  The key word is WITH as many of us categorize us (adults) and them (kids) differently.  I am vulnerable with my kids and community.  I don’t pretend to know it all and if I don’t, I encourage all to find out, preferably together.

Until next time, I hope that this stirs some souls and I welcome comments, debates and topic suggestions.

Cheers.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Brian on February 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    It is so great to watch you and the girls learning and growing together. I am so proud of you and the great work that you do; the result of which is neither raise or promotion but the beautiful development of our daughters as well rounded, respectful and educated individuals. Thank you for all that you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

